2007 Proof Set

2007 Proof Set

2007 US Mint Proof Set

The 2007 Proof Set marked the introduction of a new series of golden dollars featuring the former Presidents in the order served. With the additional Presidential Dollars included, the size of the set expanded to 14 different coins. This marked the largest sized annual proof set for the modern era to date, although it would be eclipsed a few years later.

The price of the set was adjusted to $26.95, representing an increase of $4 from the prior year price. Despite the relative bargain presented, total unit sales dropped to 1,702,116, likely due to the impact of sales from the separately issued component proof sets.

Each standard 2007 Proof Set contained the four Presidential Dollars featuring George Washington, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, and James Madison, the five State Quarters featuring Montana, Washington, Idaho, Wyoming, and Utah, and finally the Sacagawea Dollar, Kennedy Half, Roosevelt Dime, Jefferson Nickel, and Lincoln Cent. All coins were struck at the San Francisco Mint and feature a deep cameo finish.

Other proof sets released by the United States Mint this year included a separate 2007 Presidential Dollars Proof Set, priced at $14.95, which sold 1,285,972 units. Also 2007 State Quarters Proof Sets struck in clad or 90% silver and the full 2007 Silver Proof Set.

Packaging for the regular clad 2007 Proof Set was adjusted to account for the four Presidential Dollars. Three separate plastic lenses were used, containing the new dollar series, the State Quarters, and the remaining coins. These were placed within two illustrated cardboard boxes held within a white slipcase denoting the contents.  A certificate of authenticity was also included.

2007 Proof Set Information

Coins per Set: 14
Face Value: $6.91
Original Issue Price:
Mintage: 1,702,116