2000-2009 Silver Proof Sets

2002 Silver Proof Kennedy Half Dollar

The Silver Proof Sets continued to be issued from 2000 to 2009, having become established as a mainstay within the U.S. Mint’s product line up. The inclusion of five 90% silver State Quarters continued until the end of the series in 2008, only to be replaced a one year series of six commemorative quarter in 2009. Meanwhile, other new series and coin designs were introduced for some of the non-silver denominations.

From 2000 to 2008, the Silver Proof Sets continued to utilize the same style of packaging that had been established with the launch of the State Quarters series. This included coins sealed in plastic lenses and packaged in a cardboard box bearing an image of the Statue of Liberty under a red color scheme. In 2007, the number of lenses included in the Proof Set was increased to accommodate the Presidential Dollar series, although the basic design remained the same.

During this time period, there were a number of coins launched or relaunched with multiple designs. This included the Sacagwea Dollar introduced in 2000, the Westward Journey Jefferson Nickels issued from 2004 to 2005, the Presidential Dollar series launched in 2007, and the Native American Dollars introduced in 2009.

Also in 2009, the Silver Proof Set saw a change to its silver coins when the District of Columbia and United States Territories Quarters Program launched. This set included six different quarter designs, which finally boosted the number of 90% silver coins in the set by one. This year also included four redesigned Lincoln Cents, which were included in a separate lens. The overall packaging of the set was also changed with a fresh design for the outer cardboard box and lens inserts.

2000-2009 Silver Proof Sets By Year

< 1992-1999 Silver Proof Sets | 2010-2019 Silver Proof Sets >